We are a truly unique community of design professionals. Our members, mainly residing in Japan, are leaders in architectural design, construction, research, education, and other allied practices, with strong ties to counterpart professionals in the US and the international architectural community.

AIA Japan was founded in 2005 by five dedicated AIA members residing and working in Japan. Today, we are one of seven International AIA Chapters that make up the AIA International Region, with more than 70 members across Japan (there are more than 90,000 AIA members across the globe). In 2015, AIA Japan was officially incorporated as a non-profit General Incorporated Association (Ippan Shadan Houjin 般社団法人). We operate on a strictly voluntary basis.

All of our members, colleagues, alliance partners, and sponsors are captivated in exactly the same vision: the passion for great design of the built environment. AIA Japan exists to support this concept with professional tools, education, and activities for our members. In addition, AIA Japan serves as the bridge between Japanese and American (and international) architects.

Because Japan is one of the world’s leading architecturally vibrant nations with world-renowned architects (a number of whom are AIA Japan members) and structures, there is great interest in Japanese design, architecture, and construction from all over the world. AIA Japan is fortunate and proud to be providing a key role of this community.


AIA Membership welcomes US licensed architects, architects licensed anywhere in the world (International Associate Member), those who are not yet licensed (Associate AIA Member), and Student Members to be a part of AIA Japan.

Now in its 13th year, AIA Japan still has ample room to grow. This is particularly true with the robust construction market in recent years ahead of the 2020 Olympic games, where opportunities continue to expand for international architects to work in Japan. We invite you to engage us, and become part of this great team.

Daishi Yoshimoto AIA





2006 - Michel van Ackere AIA
2007 - Jun Mitsui AIA
2008 - James Lambiasi AIA
2009 - Geeta Mehta AIA

2010 - John Mader AIA
2011 - Hisaya Sugiyama AIA
2012 - Hisaya Sugiyama AIA
2013 - Yasuyuki Yanagisawa AIA

2014 - Yasuyuki Sakurai AIA
2015 - Richard Moriwaki AIA
2016 - George Kunihiro FAIA
2017 - Scott Gold AIA

Red 2.jpg

Download Brochure (English)    Download Brochure (日本語)